

Linus J. Guillory Jr., PhD Superintendent

The Public Schools of Brookline

Town Hall 333 Washington Street, 5th Floor Brookline, Massachusetts 02445 617.730.2401

TO: School Committee

FROM: Linus J. Guillory Jr., PhD

Superintendent

DATE: September 9, 2021

RE: Spotlight on Excellence

I am very pleased to be starting a new tradition at School Committee meetings this year: the Spotlight on Excellence. The Spotlight on Excellence will shine a light on just some of the many academic, athletic and cultural achievements of our students and staff. We will honor students and/or staff with the Spotlight on Excellence award at every meeting as a way to showcase amazing student and staff achievements across the school district.

For the inaugural presentation of the Spotlight on Excellence award, this evening we honor the five Brookline High School seniors who have been named Semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Competition.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is a rigorous national program that recognizes those students with outstanding scores on the SAT qualifying test. Only 1/3 of the 50,000 highest-scoring students who take the qualifying test are selected as semifinalists, and they are among the highest scoring students in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We extend our best wishes to these five semifinalists who may continue in the process. In addition to their qualifying scores, students seeking to be named a Finalist will be evaluated on their academic record, including course work and grades, written recommendations from BHS, an essay, and information about their activities and leadership achievements. It goes without saying that they have already made BHS very proud.

Tonight please join me in recognizing the following BHS students as we present them – *virtually* – with the Spotlight on Excellence award (we will mail the actual certificate to your home tomorrow!).

I will introduce each student, and ask each of them to say a few words to the Committee.

- Jade Blais-Ellis
- Lilia Burtonpatel
- Marlyn Li
- Dhruva Schlondorff
- Thomasin Schmults